Classic pizza

When the moon hits your eye, like a big pizza pie, that’s amoooreee!

Classic pizza | Photo by Brave New Food

[In honor of an upcoming interview with Gregg Brannan, owner of Leonardo's Pizza of Millhopper in Gainesville, FL, this week will pay tribute to an Italian and Chicago classic: pizza.]

When I first met my husband, Dave, his four food groups consisted of the following: Wendy’s, chicken patties, popsicles, and pizza. I have managed (with a lot of persistent nagging helpful nudges over the years) to break him of all except for the latter.

In fact, we reserve one night every week (this semester it’s Wednesday) for ordering in pizza.

This is quite a sacrifice for me (no, really), because I think the best thing about cooking at home is not eating the same things every week. I’ve never been an eat-the-same-old-turkey-sandwich-every-day kind of gal. That being said, I certainly do love me some (veggie) pizza.

Last week, I suggested that we make homemade pizza, to which Dave, replied, “Great! Now you’ll ruin something else for me!” Curious (and insulted), I demanded politely requested further explanation.

Turns out, I have “ruined” cookies, lasagna, among other things, for him in that he can no longer appreciate Chips Ahoy! and Stouffer’s in quite the same way. Color me flattered.

This recipe is quite simple, fun, and tasty (albeit, messy). If you don’t have sauce splattered on the walls and cheese all over your countertops, you’re not doing it right.

And like the Lover’s Lasagna, this pizza allows for a mix ‘n’ match option.

Word to the wise: if you’re planning on making more than one pizza, I would suggest using two ovens or cooking them one at a time since the pizza really needs to be in the center of the oven for even cooking.

What you’ll need:

  • Pizza dough (homemade or pre-made refrigerated dough)

    Sausage and mushrooms | Photo by Brave New Food

  • 16 oz. of your favorite marinara
  • 1-2 TB of olive oil
  • 8 oz. or more of shredded mozzarella
  • parmesan (optional)
  • Toppings of your choosing, such as:
  • mushrooms
  • sausage (or soysage)
  • onions
  • pepperoni
  • etc.

Bring marinara to a simmer.

Heat olive oil on the stove in a nonstick pan for about 2 minutes. Put in sliced mushrooms and onions. Sautee until soft, about 4 minutes.

A topped Classic Pizza | Photo by Brave New Food

And/or

Heat olive oil on the stove in a nonstick pan for about 2 minutes. Put in sausage and move around with spatula until brown and crumbly.

Spread the dough out on a pizza pan. Spread marinara heartily and evenly on flattened dough. Top with your favorite toppings.

Cover with shredded mozzarella cheese and top with desired amount of fresh parmesan.

Cook according to dough instructions. When it’s done, the top should be a golden brown and crust should be crispy.

Enjoy.

[Source: Brave New Food.]

If you’re in the mood for a different kind of pizza, check out Healthy Food/Lazy People’s spinach artichoke pizza. This recipe is super delicious!

Also, if you’re looking for a low-fat pizza, check out one of my favorite foodie blogs, The Novice Chef’s Chicken Tandoori Pizza.

7 Responses to Classic pizza

  1. Rachel says:

    Ginny, I love this! I love how personal you are and am so happy that you get to “ruin” another food group! Keep the recipes coming :)

  2. Dave says:

    It was delicious. Though I would like to point out that we do have chicken patties and popsicles in the freezer at this very moment ;)

  3. aflaten says:

    Good news: I have cheese and sauce splattered all over the walls.

    Bad news: This was before I even saw the recipe.

    That pizza looks awesome. I’m crashing your place Wednesday night.

  4. [...] like my lover’s lasagna and my classic pizza, are great for folks with differing opinions on [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

