Sausage and Goat Cheese Rigatoni

Sausage and Goat Cheese Rigatoni | Photo by Brave New Food

For my next trick, I will review a friend’s Italian recipe.

The blog Healthy Food/Lazy People is quickly becoming one of my favorite foodie sites. The recipes I’ve tried have been super tasty, the photos are eye-pleasing, the writing is excellent, and, perhaps most impressive to me, the recipes are very genuinely easy. One pot, one pan kind of easy.

This idea of cooking this simply blows me away, because even though I am supposed to run a beginner’s blog, I tend to gravitate toward million-step chicken parmesan or one of my favorite all-encompassing recipes, quiche supreme.

Why? Well, I am definitely perhaps putting off running my data analysis for my thesis, or maybe I just like hanging out in the kitchen for hours at a time. You know, you can totally bring a laptop in there and, like, watch your favorite shows while you cook. Not very Zen, I know.

Anyway, back to my friend’s Italian recipe. Sausage and goat cheese rigatoni. This dish is quick, delicious, and easy to make.

The original recipe calls for vegetarian sausage, but my husband requires a certain amount of animal carnage per day. So I substituted real sausage.

I might add some mushrooms to it next time for my personal taste, but it certainly didn’t need any help from me.

What you need (according to Healthy Food/Lazy People):

  • 1 box of penne or rigatoni pasta
  • 1/2-3/4 lb of sausage (or ground vegan sausage  – in most big grocery stores, it’s in the produce section)
  • 1/2 medium sweet onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 jar of roasted red peppers (optional)
  • 1/4 cup of crumbled goat cheese (or 1 moderately-heaping tablespoon per serving)
  • Your favorite non-cheesy spaghetti sauce
  • Parsley for sprinkling
  • One pot
  • One pan

What to do:

Step 1) Roughly chop the onions and red peppers, and mince the garlic

Step 2) Begin boiling the pasta according to the packing directions.

Step 3) Add the onions and garlic to a lightly oiled pan.  After a few minutes, add the ground sausage.  Break the sausage up with your hands or break it with a spoon once in the pan.  Either way, you’re shooting for small clumps of sausage.

Step 4) When the sausage is browned and the onions are translucent, add your sauce to the pan and stir in the sausage, onions, and garlic.  Turn the heat really low so the sauce doesn’t boil and splatter (you’re just trying to heat it, not cook it).

Step 5) When the pasta is cooked, strain and plate.  Top with the sausage-y sauce, sprinkle with parsley and (the best part) goat cheese!  Goat cheese is deliciously creamy but really rich – a little goes a long, long way.

Step 6) Enjoy.

3 Responses to Sausage and Goat Cheese Rigatoni

  1. “Once, during Prohibition, I was forced to live for days on nothing but food and water.”
    -W.C. Fields

  2. […] something something gratuitous Game Over Media plug something something something gratuitous Brave New Food plug something something […]

  3. Thanks for the review! Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

