Crab stuffed mushrooms

Crab stuffed mushrooms | Photo by Brave New Food

I was prepping to make dinner the other night for our “North Carolina friends” (and a super cool couple they introduced us to).

I had my grocery list all ready to go. On the menu: eggplant parmesan, caesar salad and garlic bread.

Alas, when I got to Publix, I saw all kinds of produce, but no eggplants. Confused, I asked the produce manager, and he informed me of an eggplant shortage due to the Florida cold snap.

(Um. It was cold in Florida? … He must mean that week when I dug my sweaters out of storage.)

Turns out, eggplant *is* scarce these days. I had no idea. Read more in this story about the shortage.

So, anyway, with my menu adjusted, I needed an appetizer to go with vegetable lasagna.

Something light, yet full of flavor.

Bruschetta? Yes, but, a bit too much tomato with marinara from the lasagna.

Then it dawned on me. Stuffed mushrooms.

Stuffed mushrooms are on my top five all-time favorite appetizers my mom makes for parties.

(No. 1 is pigs in a blanket. Yes, I’m 5 years old.)

But what kind of stuffed mushrooms? Cheese? Sausage? … Why, crab. Of course! Yum-mo.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 cup crabmeat
  • 1/2 cup cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup fresh parsley leaves, chopped
  • 1/2 cup green onions, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons Parmesan
  • few dashes of salt
  • few dashes of black pepper
  • few dashes of garlic powder
  • 2 portobello mushroom caps, or 10-20 white mushrooms caps
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • Nonstick cooking spray

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Combine the crabmeat, cream cheese, parsley, green onions and Parmesan. Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste. Stuff the mushroom caps with the mixture and top with bread crumbs.

I actually found that this mixture makes closer to 20 stuffed mushrooms, but it depends on how heavily you stuff them.

Spray the tops with nonstick spray to help them brown. Transfer to the oven and bake for about 20 minutes, or until the filling is hot and melted.

Enjoy.

[Source: Slightly adapted from Paula Deen’s recipe.]

6 Responses to Crab stuffed mushrooms

  1. Rachel says:

    yum yum yum! glad you found something delicious after your carbonara. but we have to have the bad to appreciate the good, right? (looking extra extra hard for that silver lining…)

  2. alayos says:

    These look amazing! P.S. Remember when we made the pigs in a blanket for the grad party?

  3. These look delicious! Stuffed mushrooms are one of my fav appetizers as well. I’ve never even thought about attempting to make them myself.

    • Thanks! You should totally make some! If you don’t want to make crab, try some cream cheese, parmesan, Italian cheese (whatever!) topped with bread crumbs for some delicious cheese-stuffed mushrooms. :)

Leave a Reply

