Shrimp and mushroom linguine (with cheese herb sauce)

Shrimp and mushroom linguine | Photo by Brave New Food

I’ll be honest.

One of my favorite things about cooking pasta is the part where you get to throw it against the wall and see if it sticks.

For those of you unfamiliar with this (seemingly insane) move, it’s a way to tell if your pasta is cooked “al dente.”

Pull a strand out of the pot, chuck it at the wall. If it sticks, it’s done.

Now, add to that an adorable dog who LOVES to pry strands of pasta thrown at the wall and you’ve got yourself a whole boatload of fun.

Here’s my shameless photo drop of my dog, Baxter:

I’ll try to get a shot of him eating wall pasta one of these days. But, anyway, dog obsession aside.

This week I made shrimp and mushroom linguine. I was a little skeptical that these two main ingredients would go together.

Okay, a lot skeptical.

But it turned out really yummy. The sauce, though, is super-dee-duper creamy.

That’s probably because I substituted the water for heavy cream.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 (8 ounce) package linguini pasta
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 pound fresh mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 (3 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried basil
  • 2/3 cup boiling water (I used heavy cream instead)
  • 1/2 pound shrimp
  • two tablespoons of olive oil

Directions

  1. Pour olive oil into a non-stick frying pan. Heat for 2-3 minutes until shimmering on medium-medium high heat. Sautee shrimp for 3-4 minutes. Do not overcook, as they will be rubbery. Shrimp will turn from grey to pink when done (usually roughly 3 minutes). Set aside.
  2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add linguini, and cook until tender, about 7 minutes. Drain.
  3. Meanwhile, heat 2 tablespoons butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms; cook and stir until tender. Transfer to a plate.
  4. In the same pan, melt 1/2 cup butter with the minced garlic. Stir in the cream cheese, breaking it up with a spoon as it melts. Stir in the parsley and basil. Simmer for 5 minutes. Mix in boiling water (or heavy cream) until sauce is smooth. Stir in cooked shrimp and mushrooms, and heat through.
  5. Toss linguini with shrimp sauce, and serve.

[Source: adapted from Allrecipes.com post found here.]

17 Responses to Shrimp and mushroom linguine (with cheese herb sauce)

  1. Sounds wonderfully rich! Love the dog photos, too!

  2. plainjane says:

    Adorable dog!

  3. Precious pup! And delicious looking recipe!

  4. beerforgirls says:

    Looks yummy! I see you went the dog route this week – it never fails! So cute!

  5. J says:

    This looks absolutely delicious especially since I love pasta. I’m lactose intolerant….do you think this recipe will work in a butter sauce as well?

    • Hey Jonee – Yes, I do think it would work as well. The shrimp and mushroom are definitely the most important taste in this recipe. And the mushrooms flavor the dish strongly. Let me know how it is with butter sauce! :)

  6. Oh my gosh oh my gosh oh my gosh- this.looks.so.good. Daniel will love it :)

  7. “…I substituted the water for heavy cream.”

    Right on.

    Putting up dog pics is the cool thing to do, I might have to join in soon!

    • Oh, I’m not one to count calories. ;) And, yeah, I definitely got the most hits on this post, thanks to Baxter. All the cool kids are doing it. …

      PS) Just put a banana in my freezer to try your/Rachel’s ice cream! :)

  8. This looks delicious and your dog is adorable. I’ve never actually tried the throw the pasta at the wall trick, seems like it creates more of a mess than its worth. But is may actually be worth the mess because I have about a 50% success rate on actually determining whether my pasta is actually done.

    • Thanks! :) And it’s actually less messy than you think (and really fun!) There’s not really any clean-up except to pull it off the wall. Give it a try, and let’s see if we can up that 50% success rate. (Just make sure to pull a strand out with a pasta fork, etc., and blow on it a little first so it’s not sopping wet.)

      Let me know how it goes! :)

  9. […] No. 5: Shrimp and mushroom linguine (with cheese herb sauce) […]

Leave a Reply

