Almond biscotti

Almond biscotti | Photo by BNF

Somehow, making this traditional Italian almond biscotti makes me feel legit.

Sure, I burned the bottom of half of them and didn’t quite get the texture right.

But, come on. I made biscotti!

According to Joy of Baking, Italians use the term biscotti to refer to all cookies, while in North America, “biscotti” refers specifically to the long, hard, twice-baked cookie designed to go with caffeinated drinks. The name comes from “bis,” which means twice in Italian and “cotto,” which means baked or cooked.

I actually decided to make these Italian treats last weekend for a friend’s birthday (what up, David G!). I also ended up dipping them in chocolate. Be jealous.

I ran into an issue at the grocery store, though. There were no plain, whole almonds.

I stood in the aisle going nuts (har har) for about 20 minutes trying to decide if dry roasted almonds would taste strange in biscotti. (I decided that they would.)

Then, out of nowhere I saw them. Dark chocolate cocoa roasted almonds.

Now we’re talking.

What you’ll need:
  • 3 cups whole almonds (I used cocoa roasted almonds)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 jumbo eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • zest of 1 large orange (about 1 -2 teaspoons)
  • plus one egg, lightly beaten for brushing tops of loaves

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line two large sheets with parchment paper.

Place almonds in a single layer on a baking sheet and toast in the oven at 350 degrees F. for 10 minutes. Remove and set aside.

In a large bowl, hand mix toasted almonds, sugars, cinnamon, baking powder, and flour.

In a small bowl, whisk eggs. Add the vanilla and orange zest and whisk until well blended. Add to the flour mixture. Work the batter together with lightly floured hands. The mixture will be sticky, but persevere. Keep squeezing the batter with your hands, until a dough starts to form. Once the dough is firm, form a ball. Divide the ball into four equal pieces.

On a lightly floured surface place one piece of dough, and using your hands, roll into a log shape that is approximately 8 inches long, 2 inches wide, and 3/4 of an inch high. Repeat with remaining three pieces of dough. Place two logs per baking sheet. Brush tops with beaten egg (mixed with about 1 TB of water).

Bake for 40 minutes, or until the tops of the loaves are shiny and deep golden. *Watch closely! Mine were done after about 30.*

Cool on a rack for about 20 minutes before slicing. Place a loaf on a cutting board, and using a large serrated knife, slice cookies 3/4 of an inch thick on the diagonal. If the cookie is crumbling, then let it cool a few more minutes. Don’t let it rest too long, however, or they could become too hard to slice. Place slices on their sides back on to the baking sheets; place in the still warm oven with the temperature off and the door closed for 30-60 minutes. The longer they stay in the oven, the harder they will become. Remove from oven and cool completely before storing in an air-tight container.

[Source: Recipe comes straight from the talented Food Blogga]

14 Responses to Almond biscotti

  1. Rachel says:

    cocoa roasted almonds? mmmm-hhhmmm!

  2. aflaten says:

    “I stood in the aisle going nuts.”

    I come for the food. I stay for the horrific puns.

    Nice work.

  3. plainjane says:

    If you keep this up, I’m going to start baking more. And if I do that, I’ll need you to force me to run. (Or something like that.)

  4. plainjane says:

    Definitely. I’m such a wimp. I can’t take the heat or sun outside. The advantage to home is there’s a treadmill in the family room. At least then I can use it while treats are cooking, at the very least.

    That whole ratio…is why I didn’t do a dessert blog.

    In December, the kitchen gets converted into PlainJane’s chocolate factory. No pretzel is safe. No cookie sheet is unused. Fridge space, no room for food in there. But chocolate, chocolate will be melted, chopped, formed and baked. Eight pound bags of chocolate chips disappear in mere minutes.

  5. […] the almond biscotti was no piece of cake (had […]

  6. Lynne says:

    Well….loved the recipe…the method was more homey italian than the last time I made em…Just put em in the oven…Im excited! Cant wait to try these out!

    • Yay! Let me know how they turn out! :)

    • Lynne says:

      Ok…So these are the best biscotti I ever made..(thanks to you!) I am an italian chef..not the best baker…This is the biscotti I have been searching for..Really authentic..I did add 2 things…I added 1 tsp of almond extract to go along with the vanilla..and a dash or 2 of nutmeg…Cant help it..its in my blood! Thank you…This is the recipe Im going to pass to my kids..(they will never know I couldnt bake :))

      • This totally made my day! :) And, oh man, almond extract and nutmeg would be amazing in this! I’ll remember that for next time. Also, I’ve dipped them (usually halfway deep) into semi-sweet chocolate – highly recommended. So glad it turned out well for you!

      • Lynne says:

        Thank you! i will be trying your shrimp sauce..really sounds different and great…Your mushrooms look amazing also..I do a crabmeat and marscapone stuffed shroom in a roasted garlic cream sauce w sage…then drizzle a little truffle oil..I will now add scallions..I like that in yours alot…Looking forward to more! Grazie..Chef Lynne

      • Oh yes, the shrimp sauce is creamy and delicious! I also recommend the cream and butter sauce. Your mushrooms sound AH-mazing!! Love the addition of truffle oil. Let me know how you like the shrimp sauce! Happy cooking! :)

Leave a Reply

