Mini-deep dish pizzas

Mini-deep dish pizzas | Photo by BNF

These mini-pizzas are really more of an appetizer.

But I decided to turn them into a dinner. … Because I’m a rule-breaker.

(Who am I kidding? I follow all of the rules. … Always.)

These, like my lover’s lasagna and my classic pizza, are great for folks with differing opinions on toppings.

I like tomato and basil or mushrooms/onions/peppers, while the husband likes mounds of pepperoni and sausage.

I guess part of me thought these would taste extra special or delicious since they were so cute and miniature.

But, with the same ingredients, it tastes simply like yummy homemade pizza … just smaller.

And maybe a little more doughy.

Kind of like me four months after starting this blog. 

What you’ll need:

** Keep in mind that a little ingredients go a long way here – roughly 1-2 TB per cup. 

  • Olive oil, for muffin pan
  • All-purpose flour, for rolling
  • 1/2 pound homemade or store-bought pizza dough, in 6 pieces (Publix has pre-made dough in the bakery!)
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella (4 ounces)
  • 1 large tomato, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup of tomato sauce (if desired)
  • Desired toppings, such as cooked vegetables, pineapple and ham, or pepperoni
Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Lightly brush 6 standard muffin cups with oil. On a lightly floured work surface, roll out each dough piece to a 6-inch round. Fill each cup with 1 round, gently pressing dough into bottom and sides of cup. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. Sprinkle each dough cup with 1 tablespoon each cheese and tomato. Add desired toppings and another tablespoon each cheese and tomato. Feel free to add 1 tablespoon of tomato sauce, if desired, before topping with cheese. Bake until dough is golden brown and crisp, 12 minutes. Let cool 2 minutes before removing from cups.

Enjoy.

[Source: Martha Stewart]

Mini-deep dish pizzas | Photo by BNF

12 Responses to Mini-deep dish pizzas

  1. plainjane says:

    adorable! (and you are skinny missy, so hush)

  2. I’d eat those for any course, even dessert!

  3. Rachel says:

    pizza pizza! i’m with you on the tomato, basil, mushroom, pepper toppings. sounds so good!

  4. aflaten says:

    Because these are small, it is a mathematical fact that you are better off eating them over a standard pizza pie. This rule stands regardless of whether you end up consuming, say, 20 or so.

  5. Kim Cooper says:

    I so want to try these! I love anything that can be customized to personal tastes, since my family refuses to eat just about everything I like…

  6. Linda says:

    This is a great idea! I’d break the rules too and have them for dinner, probably lunch too! My son will love these as well. He’s always grabbing food to go!

  7. I made those too! So good…did you get it from Martha Stewart too?

    • Awesome! How did yours turn out? I wished there were more room in there (which totally defeats the purpose.) And, yep, good ole Martha. She has yet to steer me wrong. ;)

Leave a Reply

