Fruit pizza

Fruit pizza | Photo by BNF

In honor of Memorial Day (even though I don’t get Monday off because I teach Tues-Thurs – doh!), I thought I’d include one of my favorite summer desserts: fruit pizza.

You really can’t go wrong with a combination of fruit, cream cheese and sugar cookie.

Fruit pizza is sweet … without being too sweet.

And you could make this with any variety of fruit you’d like. I’d recommend using a variety of colors for the final visual effect.

I ended up using strawberries, mandarins, pineapple, mango and kiwi.

But get creative! Just about any variation of fruit would be tasty on this.

You could even use blueberries and strawberries to create an American flag theme in honor of Memorial Day.

[I remember the first time I made this, I was really concerned about the recipe calling for “cream of tartar.” In my head, this was the stuff you put in tartar sauce. Way, way off.]

But anyway.

Pizza? For dessert? Yes, please.

What you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and 3/4 cup sugar until smooth. Mix in egg. combine the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt; stir into the creamed mixture until just blended. Press dough into an ungreased pizza pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 8 to 10 minutes, or until lightly browned. Cool.
  4. In a large bowl, beat cream cheese with 1/2 cup sugar and vanilla until light. Spread on cooled crust.
  5. Arrange desired fruit on top of filling, and chill.

Source: Allrecipes.com

6 Responses to Fruit pizza

  1. quilt32 says:

    I’ve made a version of this and like you, used my own cookie dough rather than the commercial kind. I think it’s so much better. This looks wonderful.

    • I totally agree – store-bought sugar cooke crust just wouldn’t be the same. And this one is so easy to make, I don’t see why you wouldn’t! :) Happy Memorial Day!

  2. I used to beg my mom to make this when growing up!

    • Haha – I used to beg my mom for a lot of things (that I didn’t get). The closest thing to chocolate I got was careb. True story. However, 27 years later and I have yet to have a single cavity. Lose-Win? :) PS) I checked out your blog and love it! Those pie fries are not making me want to eat my oatmeal this morning. ;)

  3. Thanks for checking it out! Glad you liked it! Looking forward to checking out your new posts.

    *Miranda

Leave a Reply

