Tomato feta salad

Tomato Feta Salad
Tomato feta salad | Photo by BNF

There’s something wonderful about buying fruits and vegetables this time of year.

They taste fresher and sweeter and … well, they taste like they’re supposed to.

(Basically, the opposite of hothouse tomatoes in December. Ick.)

And now that I’m ridiculously excited over my “garden,” I’m making big plans for container gardening next year.

But, in the meantime, I’m content to enjoy fresh fruits and veggies as I attempt to lighten up my summer meals.

Side note: Poor Baxter (the dog bear) almost melted yesterday during our 4 p.m. (95-degree) walk.

Baxter aka "Hoobie" tends to nap after walks. ps) I want to come back as him in my next life.

But I (dog)ress.

One dish that is especially good this time of year is tomato feta salad.

For you lucky ducks who are growing cherry tomatoes at home, or “tommy toes” as my family calls them, this is a great way to use them up.

Growing fresh basil in an herb garden? Even better.

Pair some cherry tomatoes with basil, feta, onion and balsamic vinegar and you’ve got yourself an amazing side dish.

I actually like to pair it with my quiche supreme (though make sure to use a slotted spoon when serving, otherwise you’ll have a balsamic-soggy-bottom quiche.)

I dare you not to eat the whole bowl.

What you’ll need: 

  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons minced fresh basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped sweet onion
  • 1 pound grape or cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
 Directions:
  1. In a bowl, combine the vinegar, basil and salt. Add onion; toss to coat. Let stand for 5 minutes. Add the tomatoes, oil and feta cheese; toss to coat. Serve with a slotted spoon.

Source: Allrecipes.com

5 Responses to Tomato feta salad

  1. Christina says:

    I can’t agree more…fruits and veggies do taste amazing this time of year! I am going to have to try this tomato feta salad…it looks sooo delicious and perfect for summer.

  2. quilt32 says:

    I have a very small garden – but it happens to include cherry tomatoes and basil, so I’ll definitely be making this salad.

    Love the picture of Baxter napping.

    • Yay! 2 out of 2. :) I have basil and patio tomatoes, but would love to plant cherry tomatoes for next year. Garden cherry tomatoes would make this recipe even better. Let me know how you like it. :)

  3. […] cherry tomatoes – or “tommy toes” – went straight into my tomato feta salad and a parmesan pasta […]

Leave a Reply

