Vanilla cupcakes with chocolate icing

Vanilla cupcakes with chocolate icing | Photo by BNF

Growing up, when my mom would ask which kind of cake I wanted for my birthday, I always requested the exact same kind.

Vanilla cake with chocolate icing.

Well, it’s not my birthday, but I did pass my journalism master’s thesis defense yesterday.

*Happy dance!*

And, so, in honor of the past six months – otherwise known as “thesis hell” – today’s post is of my favorite celebratory cake … in cupcake form.

So, now, with a graduate degree nearly in the bag, I’m moving on to more important things in life.

Like blogging more often.

This recipe is straight from my mom’s old, red-checkered Better Homes and Gardens Dessert cookbook.

The arrows are from when my step-dad Lou scanned and emailed them to me a few years ago.

Just telling you now so you wouldn’t think that I leave notes to myself that say things like “your favorite.”

PS) Ignore the cake recipe’s “lemon filling.” The first time I made this, I actually called my mom while at the grocery store to ask her what in the heck lemon filling was and where I could find it in Publix. She laughed and told me that it was part of another recipe on the cookbook page.

Oh to be me.

6 Responses to Vanilla cupcakes with chocolate icing

  1. quilt32 says:

    Congratulations – and what a wonderful way to celebrate.

  2. […] my mom got up at 4 a.m. and made me my favorite vanilla cake with chocolate icing. Oh, stubborn Marsh women. My birthday cake | Photo by my niece, Madi Me and my sister, Lauriel | […]

  3. […] worry, I passed my actual thesis defense and have since graduated. Cupcakes were […]

Leave a Reply

