Chicken gyro with tzatziki sauce

Chicken gyro | Photo by BNF

When you’re constantly reading amazing food blogs, there appears to be an endless amount of possibilities to try.

My current method is to file all my favorite to-trys in an email folder (that keeps getting longer … and longer).

But in the midst of trying new things, I have a list of (husband-)approved dishes that are on a giant rotation. Recipes that I know we’ll eat for years to come that I can make as the ingredients go on sale.

Well, congratulations “chicken gyro with tzatziki sauce,” you’ve made the cut. 

I fumbled around with this recipe a couple of times before I found the best variety. After reading my friend Casey’s version, I realized that I was not flavoring the chicken to its full potential.

See: the amazing addition of cinnamon and nutmeg.

I also messed around with two different versions of the tzatziki sauce – pretty much whether to flavor it with mint or lemon.

The jury’s still out on that one since I couldn’t tell the difference liked them both.

I’ll probably go with mint for the time being since it’s growing like weeds in my herb garden.

And for those of you lucky ducks with real gardens, tzatziki sauce is a good way to use up your cucumbers.

Also, don’t forget to completely de-seed them, as the texture will be super runny if you don’t. Trust me.

Let me know how you like this dish.

If nothing else, you’ll learn how to spell tzatziki.

What you’ll need:

For the chicken:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 to 1 1/2 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • Cumin (two shakes)
  • Cinnamon (one shake)
  • Cayenne pepper (one shake)
  • Nutmeg (a pinch)
  • kosher salt and black pepper
For the tzatziki sauce:
  • 1 cup low-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 cucumber, seeded and grated (about 1 1/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh mint
  • 1 small glove of garlic, minced
For the gyro prep:
  • 4 flat breads or pocketless pitas, warmed
  • 1/4 red onion, diced
  • 1 small romaine heart, leaves torn
  • 8 cherry tomatoes, quartered

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Season the chicken with the cayenne, cumin, cinnamon, and nutmeg, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon black pepper. Cook until cooked through, 6 to 7 minutes per side. Cut into bite-size pieces.
  2. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, mix together the yogurt, cucumber, mint, garlic, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon black pepper.
  3. Top the flat breads with the romaine, chicken, tomatoes, and tzatziki.
[Source: A combination from Healthy Food/Lazy People and Real Simple.]
6 Responses to Chicken gyro with tzatziki sauce

  1. Ellie says:

    When I’ve made tzatziki I usually squeeze the cucumber after I grate it. It makes the sauce thicker and more scoopable. Overall it sounds really yummy!

  2. Aussie Girl says:

    Also many Greek/Australians strain their yogurt overnight.

    I must try this recipe.

  3. Rebekah. says:

    Made this for me and Rob for dinner. He ate all of his share and said he would eat it again- high praise! I thought I had more mint in the garden, but alas, the heat had killed most of it. I bet the sauce is even tastier with the full 1/4 cup required.

    • Yay! I’m so glad you guys liked it! Dave and I have had it at least five or six times already. :) The heat killed my mint, too. Basil and (sideways) tomatoes are still thriving, though!

Leave a Reply

