Peanut butter blossoms

Peanut butter blossoms | Photo by BNF

Before you tell me that these are a “Christmas cookie,” I’m aware.

And I’m totally doing it anyway.

Because it’s Christmas in July.

My grandmother used to make these during the holidays, and they were one of my favorites.

Peanut butter cookie meets Hershey Kisses sprinkled with sugar. Win-win … win.

And when I stumbled on this recipe at Bakergirl, I decided to give them a go.

Holy deliciousness.

My husband – who never wants any other cookie but chocolate chip – loved them.

I actually ended up giving some to my thesis chairs along with their thank-you cards. (I know, I’m such a lady.)

And after having these, I’m ready for some other holiday treats.

Like homemade Chex mix.

Without the pretzels.

Cause that’s how I roll.

What you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Hershey kisses
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar to roll cookies in

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a bowl with a mixer, beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and peanut butter. Then beat in egg and vanilla.

In another bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to the butter mixture and beat until well blended.

Shape dough into 3/4-inch balls and roll in 1/4 cup granulated sugar. Set ball 1 1/2-inches apart on a greased baking sheet. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, or until slightly darker brown.

Place 1 chocolate kiss into the center of each cookie; dough may crack. Return to oven and continue to bake until chocolate is shiny and soft, about three more minutes. Cool and then serve.


[Source: Bakergirl, who got it fromSunset Magazine, December 1998]

3 Responses to Peanut butter blossoms

  1. quilt32 says:

    I’m probably old enough to be your grandmother and I’ve always loved these, too. I don’t consider them just “Christmas cookies” – they’re too good to eat only once a year. Yours look wonderful.

  2. Rachel says:

    i completely agree with the above comment. these cookies are delicious any time!

  3. […] She recently reconnected me with one my childhood favorites, peanut butter blossoms. […]

Leave a Reply

