Shrimp curry with snow peas

Shrimp curry with snow peas | Photo by BNF

Sometimes it takes getting out of your routine to discover amazing things.

Like, for instance, shopping somewhere other than Publix.

(More to come on my first-ever trip to a Chinese market.)

My husband and I have a good friend, John, who recently invited us over to dinner before he abandoned us for California.

He was planning to serve us vegetable rolls and shrimp curry over rice.

To drink: green aloe water or mango purée.

I could see the look on my husband’s face. It basically said: “Uhhh … This meal is way too healthy for us.” 

And, while it was a (whole) lot healthier than the fried chicken and mashed potatoes I served the other night, man did we think it was tasty.

And I’ve been dying for some more curry shrimp ever since.

This recipe is simple and tasty. If you like shrimp, and you like curry, you’ll like this.

The snow pea salad topping is actually optional, but I was surprised to find how much I enjoyed it.

Look at me eating snow peas. … What a grown-up.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup long-grain white rice
  • 3/4 cup snow peas, sliced lengthwise
  • 1/2 cup bean sprouts
  • 1/4 cup torn fresh basil leaves
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice, plus lime wedges for serving
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 14-ounce can coconut milk
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons Thai red curry paste
  • 1 1/2 pounds frozen peeled and deveined large shrimp, thawed

Directions

  1. Cook the rice according to the package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, in a bowl, toss the snow peas, sprouts, basil, oil, 1 tablespoon of the lime juice, and ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper. Set aside.
  3. In a large saucepan, whisk together the coconut milk, curry paste, and ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper. Bring to a boil.
  4. Add the shrimp and simmer, stirring occasionally, until they are opaque throughout, 2 to 4 minutes. Stir in the remaining 2 tablespoons of lime juice.
  5. Top the rice with the shrimp and curry sauce, then the snow pea mixture. Serve with the lime wedges, if desired.

[Source: Real Simple]

6 Responses to Shrimp curry with snow peas

  1. quilt32 says:

    This sounds wonderful. I love curry. I don’t cook shrimp very often but I might have to try it with this dish.

  2. Dilip says:

    Greetings from India! I’d love to try the shrimp curry recipe given here. Thanks for sharing! Regards!

  3. […] my shrimp curry with snow peas, this dish was about me being adventurous (but being pretty darn sure that I would probably like […]

  4. […] It actually tastes a lot like the sauce in my shrimp and curry with snow peas. […]

Leave a Reply

