Why it pays to be a gardener’s daughter

On my most recent trip back home to North Carolina, I got to experience the summer bounty of fresh vegetables.

And, lucky for me, I had just missed green-bean canning season.

(My sisters, however, did not. Haha.)

However, I did my fair share of garden work, picking fresh veggies and clearing out the corn patch from the raccoons chomping down in the middle of the night.

Enough, maybe, to justify the enormous amount of goodness I brought back with me.

Okay, maybe not.

But corn-patch clearing was dangerous work. Once, while balancing about 20 stalks in each hand, I stepped over the fence, got my foot caught and fell straight down on my rear.

I had to laugh (… after I looked around to see if anyone else saw me.)

But, I can’t tell you how excited I was to come back to Florida with my garden deliciousness.

I barely had to shop in my produce section at all!

These cherry tomatoes – or “tommy toes” – went straight into my tomato feta salad and a parmesan pasta salad.

I also got some fresh summer tomatoes. I ate tomato sandwiches on white bread with mayo for a week straight.

And I got some fresh corn. Oh man, not much better than fresh summer corn with a bit of butter and salt. Well, maybe a corn and basil recipe I’ve got coming up.

Also, you might as well know that I am an official squash fryer. My entire family has voted me best squash fryer, which I take as an honor. Even if it does mean standing in front of hot oil for an hour. Always worth it.

Also, while in NC, my sweet mamaw said she had a surprise for me when I came over. It was pink grapes! Man, there’s nothing like the taste of fresh grapes off the vine. I asked her if she cans them still for juice, and she said, “lord, no, they’re rotting on my shelf as it is.” To which I replied, “gosh, I can take some of that grape juice off your hands.” I still remember drinking her grape juice  as a kid (after we drained out the grapes) at her little kitchenette out of little glass jam jars with cartoons on them.

I also dug around in my parents basement and got a few things. First up, are green beans (from this year)!

Also got some canned tomatoes, which go so well in Granny Zeller’s marinara sauce. Yum!

And, last but not least, I got not only my favorite strawberry jam, but also found some 1994 blueberry jam! Who knew?

Feeling lucky to have my pantry stocked with the good stuff. And after my little garden, I can’t wait to try out some actual container gardening next year!

4 Responses to Why it pays to be a gardener’s daughter

  1. quilt32 says:

    Every picture made my mouth water that much more. We had to give up our big garden after my husband became ill and passed away, and I still love to see home canned produce.

  2. Awww, thanks! And I bet you miss it. Maybe you can still do a little container gardening like me. I completely cherish my parents’ garden. I hope to emulate it myself one day. Happy Labor Day! Hope you have a lovely dinner planned! :)

  3. Joanne says:

    Oh my gosh…what stunning produce. Growing up we had some fruit trees (orange, lemon, apple) and also some strawberries. I can’t wait until I stop moving so much so I can start growing stuff again!

    • I know – aren’t they gorgeous? My parents are true gardeners. I can’t imagine having fruit trees out back though – how cool is that? (Well, maybe I can imagine it now that I moved from NC to FL.) Thanks for reading the post and I’m a big fan of your blog! :)

Leave a Reply

