Skillet-baked chocolate chip cookie

Skillet-baked chocolate chip cookie | Photo by BNF

Clearly, I am only branching out so far when it comes to desserts.

Yes, okay, so I did make the pear and ricotta tart. I’m still impressed with myself on that one minus the quarter-size burn on my arm.

And the almond biscotti was no piece of cake (har har).

But a skillet-baked  chocolate chip cookie? Pish.

I mean, obviously, it has potential to be pretty good.

Is it cake? Is it a cookie? Is it pie? (yes).

The first time I made this was for a dinner party.

Oh man, I know, I know, Dinner Party Hosting 101: Do NOT make a new dish for the first time to serve to guests.

I figured a skillet-baked cookie it was a safe bet. … Safe, not amazing.

But when I tasted my first bite, after my friends were “wow’ing” over it, I busted out the oh-so-modest “holy $@!#, this is really delicious!”

(Yeah, that happened.)

So, Kerry of Bakergirl is quickly becoming my go-to dessert gal.

She recently reconnected me with one my childhood favorites, peanut butter blossoms.

And I tried out her chocolate ganache truffles last weekend, which were a (dangerous-to-know-how-to-make-at-home) hit.

And now this. Three for three. Foodie trust abound.

Try this deceptively delicious dessert and get back to me.

And try to be a bit more modest, okay?

For A 10-Inch Skillet
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks or 12 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups (about 9 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips

For a 13-Inch Skillet
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 1/4 sticks (18 tablespoons) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/8 cups light brown sugar
1 extra-large egg, at room temperature
3 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter, sugar, and brown sugar together until the mixture is light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla extract, mixing until well incorporated. With the mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture and beat just until incorporated. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Transfer the dough to an ovenproof skillet (I used a 13-inch cast iron skillet) and press to flatten in an even layer on the bottom of the pan. Note that rings true: dough might be a little crumbly, but it’ll bake up perfectly once flattened down).

Bake until the edges of the cookie are brown and the top is golden, about 40-45 minutes. Don’t overbake it; it will continue to cook a few minutes out of the oven. I took it out at 40 minutes.

[Source: Bakergirl]

6 Responses to Skillet-baked chocolate chip cookie

  1. Rob says:

    This was an awesome dessert. I would make it myself, but then it would be in the house, and my waistline has grown enough lately.

  2. Rachel says:

    why be modest if you can be honest?! the middle looks super dense and chocolatey…%$&!@*# delicious if you ask me! :)

  3. InCucinaDaME says:

    I stopped counting the burns, cuts etc. It’s part of the game we love, isn’t it ?
    BTW lovely picture

Leave a Reply

