German chocolate icing

As you might recall, I like a big fuss over my birthday.

Or, rather, I appreciate it if a big fuss is made.

So, when the hubs’ day rolls around, I like to pay back in full all of the doting attention I received on my birthday week.

Always one to know exactly what he wants, I had to settle with buying him a watch that he had already picked out.

But I *was* able to surprise him with a beta fish (named Walternate) and a bunch of rainbow-colored balloons.

“Baboooh!!”

(Did anyone else watch “The Red Balloon” in film criticism class? No, just me?)

I took a yellow balloon over to my 2-year-old neighbor, Quinn, who came over with his parents later with this lovely birthday card.

I decided to make german chocolate cupcakes (recipe for icing below) since that’s Dave’s very favorite cake.

Also, birthday bonus, we celebrate our dog Baxter’s birthday on the same day. I may or may not have gone overboard on his presents this year. And by may not have, I mean that I did.

He absolutely wore himself out after a mad-dash romp around the living room playing with all of this.

(Also, that birthday toy cupcake has mysteriously disappeared.)

For dinner, we tried out Gainesville’s The Warehouse Restaurant & Lounge.

To start, we had the steak fries with goat cheese fondue. (Uh, delicious!)

Dave got the grilled filet of beef topped with crumbled bleu cheese, mushroom fondue, and a side of yukon gold potatoes. (I tasted it and was jealous.)

I got grilled flank steak and snow crab mac & cheese. (I tasted it and wasn’t jealous anymore.)

And when our server asked if we wanted dessert and I mentioned that we were going to be having birthday cake instead, she insisted that we get a free birthday dessert there.

We even got to pick it out – a rich chocolate mousse that absolutely hit the spot.

Aside from some iTunes renting technical difficulties while trying to watch (holy-lord-scary-movie) The Descent, I think the hubs had a good 29th birthday.

German chocolate icing

Ingredients

  • 1 cup evaporated milk
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 1/3 cups flaked coconut

Directions

  1. In a large saucepan combine evaporated milk, brown sugar, egg yolks, butter and vanilla. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until thick – about 10ish minutes. Remove from heat and stir in pecans and coconut. Let cool to room temperature before spreading on cake. <– This step is important, otherwise it will still be too runny.
[Source: Allrecipes.com]
Leave a Reply

