Broccoli and cheddar soup

Me: Honey, do you think it’s cold enough for soup yet?

Dave: It depends on what day it is.

As infuriating of an answer that is for someone who already has her mind made up, it’s entirely accurate.

Florida this time of year is up and down. Down and up.

Today, for example.

It was supposed to be high of 80 and partly sunny.

(Turned out to be kind of raining and windy.)

Later this week it will dip back into the mid 60s.

It’s basically the bipolar weather of the southeast. 

Meanwhile, every single blog I’m reading is chanting stews! pumpkin-flavored goodness! soups!

So, just because it’s still pretty darn warm outside, that doesn’t mean we can’t crank up the A/C and enjoy some cheesy broccoli soup, right? … Right?

Don’t answer that, I’ve already made up my mind.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 whole Onion, Diced
  • 1 stick 1/2 Cup Butter
  • 1/3 cup Flour
  • 4 cups Whole Milk
  • 2 cups Half-and-half
  • 4 heads Broccoli Cut Into Florets
  • 1 pinch Nutmeg
  • 3 cups Grated Cheese (mild Cheddar, Sharp Cheddar, Jack, Etc.)
  • Small Dash Of Salt (more If Needed)
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • Splash Of Chicken Broth If Needed For Thinning

Instructions:

Melt butter in a pot over medium heat, then add the onions. Cook the onions for 3 to 4 minutes, then sprinkle the flour over the top. Stir to combine and cook for 1 minute or so, then pour in milk and half-and-half. Add nutmeg, then add broccoli, a small dash of salt, and plenty of black pepper.

Cover and reduce heat to low. Simmer for 20 to 30 minutes, or until the broccoli is tender. *Be sure to check on it and stir it from time to time, as it will stick on the bottom if your heat is up too high. Stir in cheese and allow to melt.

Taste seasonings and adjust if needed. Mash it with a potato masher to break up the broccoli. Splash in chicken broth if needed for thinning, as it will be pretty thick.

Source: [The Pioneer Woman]

10 Responses to Broccoli and cheddar soup

  1. Karen says:

    I lived in Florida for a long time and sometimes you just have to turn the A/C down and make that wonderful fall meal. Your soup sounds great.

    • Isn’t that the truth! And, a nice mild winter is not too bad after 100+ degrees in August. :) And I’ve actually visited your blog in a friend of a friend’s recommendation. Love it when paths cross again in the blog world! ;)

  2. kimtinnell says:

    Hey G! If you are in the mood for soups, I made this one about a month ago: http://www.exclusivelyfood.com.au/2006/07/roast-pumpkin-soup-recipe.html

    I did make it from scratch (even roasted my own pumpkin, which took WAY longer than the recipe said it would).

    It’s not as good as Bistro, but it’s still pretty darn good. (It’s just different.) You could probably adapt it maybe add sweet potato or something. I also whipped the cream (but didn’t add sugar like I would when making whipping cream for desserts).

  3. kimtinnell says:

    I meant to add that “I made it from scratch, but you probably could use canned pumpkin.”

  4. This is a really lovely idea!

    • Thank you! :) And I want to try your pumpkin soup! Also, isn’t it dangerous to know how to make truffles? I just learned about tempering chocolate to make an outside shell – so cool!

  5. Joanne says:

    I didn’t know you live in Florida! I live near Jacksonville, so I totally understand your pain haha. It was 70 yesterday! What part of Florida do you live in? And PS I’ve already started making soups lol. I’m ready for it to be cold…as least as cold as it can be for the area.

    • No way! That’s awesome! I’ve lived in Gainesville, FL, for the last three years, but am originally from the mountains of NC. I love living in Florida though – went to Miami Beach for my honeymoon and St. Pete for my anniversary. :) How do you like Jacksonville?

  6. […] you’ve seen my easy broccoli and cheddar soup, and my not-so-easy (but totally worth it) chicken tortilla […]

Leave a Reply

