French cooking class (part I)

When I was in Paris in 2005 (like I’ve been more than the once), I was in a lovely romantic haze.

My husband (then my boyfriend of 8 months) and I met there at the end of his European study abroad for about a week and a half.

We traveled from Paris to Nice to Bordeaux and back to Paris.

It. was. heaven.

While those were my shake-and-bake days my pre-foodie days, I appreciated everything we ate, from the simple baguettes and cheese to the croque monsieurs to the mussels in white wine sauce. 

So when my friend Jessica mentioned a local community education course on regional French cooking, I was intrigued.

The four-week course takes place once a week with the talented Chef Michel Maloiseau.

And I have already learned so many wonderful tips and methods.

Not to mention some fantastic recipes.

Such as …

  • a classic béchamel
  • baked chicken crapaudine (fresh herb and goat cheese-stuffed chicken)
  • cauliflower au gratin
  • savory blue cheese soufflé
  • boeuf bourguignon
  • short dough (for pies, tarts, quiches)
  • zucchini bread
  • traditional caramelized taste tartin

Next week, we’re delving into sautéed fish and other deliciousness.

Meanwhile …

“Excuse me, chef? Do you have a blowtorch for class?”

I’m doing my best to push for creme brûlée.

3 Responses to French cooking class (part I)

  1. Joanne says:

    I just love Paris….I can’t wait to go back. And the first place I’ll go is Pierre Herme for some macarons, then to Berthillon for some ice cream, then to Laduree for more macarons and french pastries hahaha! The class sounds so fun!

  2. […] our first two classes, we covered a lot of delicious […]

Leave a Reply

