Flank steak with peanut butter noodles

Let’s call this branching out at home.

I’ve got an undeniable love for Thai food, but pretty much only eat it when I’m out to dinner.

Like my shrimp curry with snow peas, this dish was about me being adventurous (but being pretty darn sure that I would probably like it.)

I was excited when I saw this recipe on Pass the Sushi, one of my newer food blog crushes.

I love steak served on just about anything (or picking up entire filets and biting hunks at a time – let’s be real), and my husband has a special affinity for peanut flavoring in Thai food. 

So win-win.

It was a bit strange creating the sauce in a blender, since most of my sauces tend to be heavy-cream-and-butter based simmered over the stovetop.

Oh, and, side note,  speaking of being adventurous, it calls for fish sauce.

I remember clearly one morning at work a few weeks back when a co-worker of mine was going on and on about fish sauce.

Meanwhile, I had already come to work nauseated to the gills.

Like, big time.

So, there he was talking about how he and his wife had managed to spill it all over their cabinets.

Fish sauce, fish sauce, fish sauce.

Whoops, this post is no longer appetizing. Sorry about that.

But, word to the wise, don’t go taking a big whiff out of the bottle just to see what it smells like.

Just don’t.

Anyway, try this dish.

(I said dish, not fish.)

You won’t taste the fish sauce, I promise.

What you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 3 tbs fish sauce (in your grocery’s ethnic section)
  • 3 medium garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 teas Thai red curry paste
  • 2 teas sugar
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 (9 oz) package fresh Chinese egg noodles, rinsed
  • 4 scallions, sliced thin on bias
  • 1 flank steak (about 1 1/2 lbs)
  • 1 tbs vegetable oil

Directions:

Bring 3 quarts of water to a boil in pot. Meanwhile, blend peanut butter, coconut milk, lime juice, fish sauce, garlic, curry paste, and sugar in blender until smooth.

Add 1 tbs salt and noodles to boiling water and cook until tender. Drain, run under cold water to cool, drain again. Toss noodles with 1/2 cup peanut butter sauce and scallions. Season with salt and pepper. Set aside.

Pat steak dry with paper towels and season with salt and pepper. Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat until just smoking. Cook steak until well browned, 3 to 6 minutes per side. (I did about 2 and a half minutes, which might have been a bit underdone. But then again I like things rare.) Transfer to cutting board, tent with foil, and let rest for 5 minutes. Slice steak thin against grain. Transfer steak to platter.

Serve with remaining peanut sauce.

[Source: Pass the Sushi]

Leave a Reply

