Gingersnaps

Growing up, my dad was always a big fan of gingersnaps.

He’d buy one bag at a time of those mocha-colored brown sacks with the wax coating inside and the old-fashioned writing.

The day after there would inevitably be an empty, crumpled bag lying at the foot of his winged maroon leather recliner.

My did is still a bit that way, as is my husband.

They can’t have just one.

And, so, with the holidays nearing, there have been lots of exciting excuses to forgo “just saying no.”

Case in point: this year’s Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap.

The idea is:

1) you are paired with three other bloggers around the world

2) you make three dozen cookies and send them to your “matches”

3) you wait with wild anticipation for your three (different) dozen cookies from whoever was matched with you.

And when I saw (my blog crush) Smitten Kitchen’s gingersnap recipe – rich and dark brown with real molasses – I knew this was the cookie for me.

I mean … for me to send.

I absolutely did not have, like, a dozen of them myself.

As for what I received in return for sending out gingersnaps, below is the goodness that literally popped the button off of my work pants last week.

(Those pants will hereby forever be known as “the cookie pants.”)

Totally. worth. it.

My first box of awesome I received held these ridiculously delicious snicker doodles with a twist (cinnamon and toffee) from Jennifer at Peanut Butter and Peppers:

Second to arrive were these chocolate gingerbread cookies from Jen at Beantown Baker – one of the richest, most indulgent versions of gingerbread cookies I have ever encountered. My husband got to most of these before I could – but, don’t worry, I had my share.

And my third package of goodies came from Bonnie at Bonniebella of Chrysanthemum – snicker doodle peppermint kisses cookies and a bonus bag of almond cookies made during Bonnie’s Chinese New Year celebration. These were awesome cookies and the perfect end to this delightful swap.

 

Also, I sent my gingersnaps to:

So, if you have a food blog and are interested in taking part in the fun next year, click here to register.

And in the meantime, don’t you dare forget about making these gingersnaps.

… Oh man.

Gingersnaps

What you’ll need:

Yield: About 4 dozen

2 1/4 cups (281 grams) all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons (10 grams) baking soda
1/2 teaspoon (2 to 3 grams) table salt
3 teaspoons (6 grams) ground ginger
1 teaspoon (2 grams) cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon (1 gram) allspice
1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper
2 sticks (8 ounces or 227 grams) unsalted butter, at room temperature (I used salted)
1/2 cup (100 grams) granulated sugar
1/2 cup (96 grams) light brown sugar
1 large egg
1/3 cup (79 ml) unsulphured molasses

Directions:

*Note: This recipe includes two-hour chilling time.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt and spices. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugars together until fluffy, about three minutes on medium. Add egg and molasses and beat until combined. Add dry ingredient and beat at low speed until just combined. Thoroughly scrape down bowl, ensuring ingredients are evenly mixed.

Transfer your cookie dough to plastic wrap. Taste it first, it’s delicious. Chill in fridge for at least two hours, until firm.

Preheat oven to 350°. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and spread at least two inches apart on baking sheets that have either been greased or lined with parchment paper. Bake for 10 to 15 minutes, which is a long range. In the 10 to 12 range, the cookies will be softer. In the 13 to 15 range, a bit snappier. In both cases, you’ll want to leave them on their baking sheets for long enough that they’re firm enough to be transferred to a cooling rack with a spatula, anywhere from 2 to 5 minutes.

[Source: Smitten Kitchen who adapted from Sweet Melissa Patisserie, Cook’s Illustrated and a few other places.]

3 Responses to Gingersnaps

  1. Karen says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful cookie swap. Best Christmas Wishes and Happy New Year.

  2. […] to work off the ginger snaps, caramel popcorn, and 18 pounds of chocolate sent home with us from my […]

Leave a Reply

