Spiced chicken with couscous salad

I’m not too keen on New Year’s resolutions.

For the most part, it’s lying to yourself.

You make promises. Swear you’ll do better this year.

Two weeks later you’re back to who you were and what you were doing in the first place.

Who needs the added stress?

Okay, full disclosure, I guess I have a couple of teeny “resolutions.”

1) Take the stairs at work. (But, honestly, this is mostly because I’m scared of our rickety, old elevator.)

2) Try some new stuff this year. (Easy enough. I’m thinking can some strawberry jam, go camping in Florida, etc. All stuff I was going to do anyway. That’s the key to resolutions, you see. – i.e.: eat more chocolate, take more naps, etc.)

3) Uh … I mean, I guess it wouldn’t kill me to try to eat (and feed my husband) healthier food.

More vegetables, less meat and cheese.

You know the drill.

Just about everyone this time of year is singing the same tune.

Got to work off the ginger snaps, caramel popcorn, and 18 pounds of chocolate sent home with us from my father-in-law.

I could kill him for that.

At least he got me a treadmill for Christmas?

But, anyway, here’s a recipe for your post-holiday bod.

Spiced chicken with couscous salad.

Not bad for health food.

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (6 ounces each)
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 dashes of nutmeg
  • 2 dashes of cinnamon
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 3⁄4 cup couscous
  • 3/4 pound cherry or grape tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/4 pound snap peas, thinly sliced crosswise (about 1 cup) (optional)
  • 1/2 cup torn fresh basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest plus 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Directions

  1. Heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Season the chicken with the paprika, cumin, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper.
  2. Cook the chicken until golden brown and cooked through, 6 to 7 minutes per side. Transfer to a cutting board.
  3. Meanwhile, place the couscous in a large bowl. Add 1 cup hot tap water, cover, and let sit for 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork.
  4. Add the tomatoes, snap peas, basil, lemon zest and juice, remaining oil, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper to couscous. Toss to combine.
  5. Slice the chicken and serve with the couscous.

Note: If you aren’t a big fan of lemon, I would advise you to leave off the lemon zest and use about half of the fresh lemon juice.

[Source: Slightly adapted from Real Simple.]

4 Responses to Spiced chicken with couscous salad

  1. quilt32 says:

    This sounds so good – I like all of the spices. I’ll have to give this one a try.

  2. Rachel says:

    i can actually make this! cinnamon and nutmeg? you’re speaking my language- in chicken! :)

Leave a Reply

